Knitting: Kim knits Bray Cap

Hello, I am Kim and I used to have a sewing blog a few years ago but due to life changes I deleted this blog. I have since not blogged about my creative escapades but still read a lot of my fellow sewing bloggers’ blogs and have become more of a lurker.

But today I felt like starting to blog again, about the things I create or do.

I do blog about my profession, which is software testing, every now and then, but the most I have done about my creative adventure is take Instagram photos and I have missed writing about the creative side of things.

So here it goes, my re-launch of blogging about what I get up to. I did not want to limit myself to sewing or knitting, so you may also see some baking or travelling related posts. I don’t know yet.

Knitting Bray Cap

In September of 2015 I started to commute to London on a regular basis for work, which means I spend around 3 hours on average in a train. I often spend this time reading for work or finishing documents but also started knitting, especially hats as they are small and portable and often the patterns are easy enough remember to knit.

One of those projects was Brooklyn tweed’s Bray Cap.

I would describe myself as an advanced but fearless beginner when it comes to knitting. So this hat was a challenge for me the first time round. I had not done any sort of lace knitting and only basic cable knitting before this.

Version 1: Bray Cap in Malabrigo Rios


The first version I made, I used a dark blue Malabrigo Rios yarn that I bought in Brighton from YAK. I followed the instructions (or tried to), but did not do the tubular cast on. I am yet to try the tubular cast on to be fair. What I did was use the provisional cast on as described here and made a folded brim. I have a small head so a folded brim tends to fit me better.

As you can see I did the first big horseshoe cable wrong but I loved the effect so much and then felt really stupid when I looked at other finished hats.

The yarn was great to work with and had a nice shimmer to it. I had a brief shock moment when I realised that the hat was unravelling from the top but using a crochet hook I managed to fix it.

Here I am wearing the hat in Iceland in July this year.

Version 2: Bray Cap in The Uncommon Thread Lush Worsted

This second version is actually flawless knitting wise which is the first time ever this has happened to me. I normally miscount at some point. But After nearly 2 years of frequent knitting I am starting to be able to read the knitted fabric as I go along and it is really helped me to make sure I am not messing the pattern up as I go.

This version I knitted using smaller needles for the brim than the pattern suggests, for a closer fit. I also added a pom pom and used up every single bit of my skein in the process which is a nice feeling too.

The yarn I used was The Uncommon Thread in lush worsted which I bought at Loop London. The colour way is a Loop shop exclusive if I remember correctly. I love the The Uncommon Thread yarns a lot. They are very nice to knit with and make some lovely cables.

The only issue I had was that when I blocked this hat, it became massive. So I made the hat a bit damp again and briefly chucked it into the dryer. This made it go back to a perfect size.

It was nerve wrecking, chucking something into the dryer but so worth it. I have worn this hat exclusively for a week now.

Question: Have you ever saved your knitting by chucking it in the dryer?

Leave a Reply

