Knitting: Kim knits Seathwaite

I promise there will be more variety than just knitting posts about hat patterns.

This hat however is my absolute favourite that I have knitted this year. It is Seathwaite and I discovered it during the fringe association hat alongs. These are super fun and you can join in now if you need some hat knitting inspiration, want to try some new skills, or need some ideas for cool presents.

Seathwaite, like the other hat along patterns, is free. The pattern uses a provisional cast on, using the crochet method and then creates a folded brim. This has been my hat knitting discovery of 2016, because a folded brim fits my small head so much better than a normal long tail cast on. I also love the squishyness it creates. If you have never done a folded brim before or provisional cast on using the crochet method, the pattern is great as it has links to helpful  tutorials.

14294778_172578179849268_1035089595_n_medium2

When I knitted this hat I had not made a hat with cables before. I loved the process. It can be daunting but cable knitting is extremely simple. At least the few cables I have knitted so far had simple cable patterns. On a side note I ordered this book “Knitted Cable Sourcebook” and cannot wait to try and swatch some of the more complicated cables.

Seathwaite is best suited for a yarn that is a mostly a solid colour. The cables can get lost otherwise and they are so pretty it would be a shame to hide them.

Version 1: using Rowan creative focus worsted

This yarn has a bit of fuzz to it, similar to the sample version. It was a dream to knit with and the cables came out really nicely. The hat can however be a tiny bit itchy in this yarn, especially if you do not have much hair or thin hair.

I added a bobble to this version. I actually had to make the bobble twice as the first time around I did not make it tight enough so it unravelled eventually.

12383449_444348135764684_85393488_n_medium2

Version 2: using Three Irish girls springvale DK

This yarn was special to me mainly because my best friends Katja suggested it to me and I found a colour way called winter birch. My childhood was filled with silver birches and they are my favourite tree so I saw this as a sign to get the yarn.

The yarn is merino so a bit softer than the Rowan yarn. I was worried it wouldn’t hold the cable shape as much and used a smaller needle size to get a tighter gauge. I also just realise d that the yarn is DK but the pattern calls for worsted weight yarn. I would suggest doing a swatch if you happen to be more observant than me before you basically change the whole pattern suggestions. I was lucky it worked out.

The hat fits perfectly and the speckles are subtle enough to not distract from the cables, in my opinion.

14449110_290262601354924_550205479784022016_n_medium2

Question: Do you have a favourite hat pattern for solid colour yarn? What about for speckled or variegated yarn?

One thought on “Knitting: Kim knits Seathwaite

Leave a Reply

