Knitting: Cozy Cable Cowl by Purl Soho

I have just finished my second version of the Cozy cable Cowl from Purl Soho. The pattern is free and I highly recommend it if you ever wanted to try knitting cables. It uses a bulky yarn and the instructions are really easy to follow.

Cozy Cable Cowl in Madelinetosh Home

I remember buying this yarn online and loving the colour way and then being blown away by it when I had knitted it up. Photos of course do not do it justice.

 

The finished item was a lot more drapey than tI re one made with the suggested yarn from Purl Soho. But I loved it. It was a super fast make, and I could knit it while commuting and then wore it on my commute during which I eventually lost it. I even filed for lost and found but never got a reply. Sigh.

This happened before I went on a trip to New York, where I made it my mission to go to Purl Soho. Once I was in the shop I fell in love with the squishy Feltro yarn and bought enough to make myself a replacement cowl.

 

Cozy Cable Cowl in Feltro

15338510_1233472210035380_2116988422420692992_n_small2

This again was a joy to knit with and came together super quickly. You are kind of getting into the cables and then it is all over and you are binding off. Using this yarn created a lot more squishy fabric that held its shape and sits on the neck. It is currently drying from its soak so I do not have pictures wearing it.

I highly recommend this pattern, it comes together fast and you could make it as a gift for christmas still. It is also awesome for trying out cables as the chunky yarn makes it non fiddly and you see the results really quickly.

Question: Have you made a replacement item after losing or damaging the original?

 

 

One thought on “Knitting: Cozy Cable Cowl by Purl Soho

Leave a Reply

