Knitting

Knitting: Lessons learned – State Street Cowl

When I first started to knit for myself in 2015 I was fascinated by the state street cowl by Quince and co.

At the time I had no idea where to buy yarn or really how to knit, or how needle sizes work. This knowledge gap I can now demonstrate having made the cowl again 18 months later.

 

Version 1 – State street Cowl in Puffin Quince and Co

image_small2

This first version I made using the suggested yarn but I knit more repeats of the pattern to make it bigger because I was inspired by Karen Templer’s version. I actually bought the yarn and pattern in 2013 and then my life changed so I did not actually try to knit it until 2015.

The main mistake I made that I had not realised I had made until now, was that I did not understand knitting needle sizes. The pattern mentions to use the following:

US 13 – 9.0 mm
US 15 – 10.0 mm
What I did was use:
US 9 – 5.5 mm
US 10 – 6.0 mm
Hence my fabric is a lot denser and not as drapey as for others who used the suggested yarn. I never noticed or minded that to be fair.
image_small2-2

Version 2 – State Street Cowl in Puffin Quince and Co

My new version made this year looks so different! You can see the face details, it is soft and drapey and just lustrous.
Who knew needle sizes made such a difference! Look at the comparison below. The grey one is on top of the darker one.
16122494_170353866781997_8013002982431916032_n_small2
 
This is a lesson learned. Stick to the correct needle size or better even, make a swatch! 🙂
Leave a Reply

