Knitting

Knitting: I just can’t “Find my fade”

This is going to be a bit of a rant at myself. I for some reason cannot knit the Find my fade shawl.

15877495_2116002008632320_9013697428590690304_n_small2

I found it to be an interesting design, I have the suggested yarn in my stash and had a great colour combo idea and thought I would learn lots but still have safe sections (garter stitch).

But I started twice now, have ripped back portions of this second one and there are so many mistakes in it now that I will frog it again. 😦

I am just really frustrated with myself that I keep making mistakes. For some reason I cannot get the spine to work and if it is not that then my yarn overs and decreases are messed up. Sigh!

img_5811
Messing up the spine again in the garter section.

In a way I feel like I have knitted much more complicated things such as this other hedgehog fibres shawl. Which don’t get me wrong, it does have “maker marks” (mistakes) in it but I love it. But I just don’t love knitting this. Not right now. Maybe I have gotten a bit better at knitting and now have really high expectations of myself. Sigh.

Anyways I just can’t find my fade and am giving up for now. I don’t even want it sitting in a WIP progress bag, so I will frog it and re-purpose the yarn I think.

I am by no means saying it is a bad pattern, I just am not getting on with it at all. You should see some of the amazing makes! To get inspiration follow the hashtag #findyourfade on instagram! Some amazing makes, mine just won’t be one of them! haha!

 

5 thoughts on “Knitting: I just can’t “Find my fade”

  1. I got to the first lace section and had to frog it all because I had the wrong number of stitches some how. Now I’m starting again and can’t get past Row 2 of the setup. What on earth is going on with it?

    Like

    1. I think it needs a certain mindset that I clearly haven’t got yet or at the moment. I hope you either find your motivation or another project in the meantime. 🙂 I’m knitting a jumper now. Different yarn weight, needles and garment. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Think I’m going to decamp to another pattern. Just need something to show off my Caron Cakes yarn that my bestie brought back for me at Christmas.

        Like

Leave a Reply

